Null + Void Unveils Debut Album ‘Cryosleep’ Featuring Collabs With Dave Gahan, Sharin Foo and Shannon Fuchness | Thirst4Beats

Null + Void Unveils Debut Album ‘Cryosleep’ Featuring Collabs With Dave Gahan, Sharin Foo and Shannon Fuchness

Swiss-born New Yorker, Kurt Uenala also known as Null + Void  is a skillfully multi-talented artist who joins forces with Dave Gahan, Sharin Foo and Shannon Fuchness for his debut album “Cryosleep” finally unleashed this week.

The all-around synth wizard, has also made a name for himself as a grammy nominated composer, synth programmer and music producer, mainly working for artists like Moby, The Kills and most recently Depeche Mode, having earlier this year, finished production work on their new album ‘Spirit’.

The collaboration with Depeche Mode singer Dave Gahan proved not only fruitful but the two became friends, and with his love for vintage synthesizers, dark electronic music, and exploring unusual chord structures Kurt started experimenting and writing his own shadowy songs filled with moody atmospheres forming the basis of Kurt’s new solo project, Null + Void.

Successfully accomplishing the now released project ‘Cryosleep’  Null + Voids, debut album,  a 10 track sonic palette of contrasts and tension, where darkness is pierced by blinding light and where moody new wave bleeds into stark electronics. In one moment  joyful memories give way to isolation and regret and in the next,  ‘Cryosleep’  explores the catharsis of crowded dancefloors.

Throughout the record, Uenala adds his own impressive detailed style that matches his  production wizardry with incredible vocalists from Depeche Mode’s Dave Gahan and the inimitable Shannon Funchess to Black Rebel Motorcycle Club and The Big Pink. This timeless and influential album commands great pride and respect, immersing you from start to finish


The title ‘Cryosleep’ perfectly accentuates what Null + Void expresses throughout his first record. “It’s about the desire to keep loved ones alive beyond their lifespan,” he explains, alluding to the personal life experiences that colour this music. “And if you tapped into that frozen person and scanned their last thoughts, their final farewell, this is what might come out.” To experience Cryosleep’ is to enter the many worlds of the subconscious, vibrant realms of hidden shadows, lost memories, and the mesmerizing unknown.

Null + Void’s take on dark pop meshes with his love for Detroit electro, poignant synth melodies, and cold atmospheres.


Read the Kurt Uenala Interview


01. Falling Down (feat. Black Rebel Motorcycle Club)
02. Into The Void
03. Asphalt Kiss
04. Where I Wait (feat. Dave Gahan)
05. Come To Me
06. Take It Easy (feat. The Big Pink)
07. Foreverness
08. Paragon
09. Hands Bound (feat. Shannon Funchess)
10. Lost And Blind

digital bonus for all formats:
11. Blank Stare
12. Where I Wait (feat. Dave Gahan) (Radio Edit)
13. Where I Wait (feat. Dave Gahan) (Aristókrasía Version)

Music Maker – a documentary by Ivan Abel

New York based Cinematographer and filmmaker Ivan Abel filmed Null + Void in his studio and surroundings to give us insights into the producers work and vision as well as his released debut album ‘Cryosleep’.